Back on the Exercise Band Wagon

April 30, 2007 at 10:48 am 3 comments

After a disastrous month of April, I am back on my exercise program.  In April, I only lifted six times and walked ten times.  No other exercise.  To make up for the lack of exercise, I ate poorly all month.  Ughhhh….

Now, I’m back.  Yesterday Lisa and I lifted weights (she tortured me with Kettle weights – her latest fetish).  This morning, I got up at 5:30am (okay – actually Lisa got me up), and I rode the spin bike we now have in our downstairs family room.  It was an easy 30 minute ride with an average hr of 124 and a max of 148.  I just wanted to get my legs warmed up.

Here is what I learned from my month in exile.  If I’m not 100% intentional about exercising and healthy eating, I won’t do it.  I get too distracted by everything else in life.   I started the year exercising every day and counting calories.  I lost 13 pounds in the first six weeks. 

Then I tried a more zen approach.  I didn’t worry about it so much.  My motto became, “go with the flow”.   My exercise has since fallen off the table and my weight is back up 5 pounds.  Go with the flow is still a great motto in life, it just doesn’t happen to work for me with exercise and eating right.  I’m not making it mean anything more than that – I seem to be the kind of person who needs to have a plan and a schedule in order to make fitness a priority.  Other people are like Lisa, who doesn’t have to think about it so much.  For her, missing more than a day or two in a row is simply intolerable.  I seem to tolerate it just fine.  :-)

So – I am going back to paying attention to what I eat and trying to get in some exercise EVERY DAY.  I’ll treat these things as “to do’s” that I fight to get checked off every day.  I know I’ll still need rest days periodically, and I know there are times when I will allow myself to splurge on food (ie birthday coming up).  No worries,  the next day I’ll get back to checking off the boxes.

One last thing.  There are always consequences to our actions.  Other than now having to re-lose the 5 pounds I just gained back, I also have a 62 mile bike ride scheduled for May 12th.  I asked Lisa what I should do to train for it.  Her reply – train however you want because basically you’re screwed and you are going to suffer…

Entry filed under: 2007 Resolutions, fitness, fitness over forty, Goals, New beginning, over forty. Tags: .

It’s official – I’m leaving my job Skagit Spring Classic

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Karl McCracken  |  May 3, 2007 at 6:35 am

    I’m so glad to see that you have the love and sympathy of a good woman to get you through the next week’s training . . .

    Reply
  • 2. RunningKate  |  May 3, 2007 at 6:55 am

    that’s funny that Lisa tortured you with kettle weights!

    Reply
  • 3. Phil Sabin  |  May 3, 2007 at 11:37 am

    According to Lisa – if I thought that was torture, wait until this Sunday…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Check out Sweat365

Sweat 365 is dedicated to supporting your every-day fitness, no matter what your level and no matter what your goals. At Sweat 365 you can easily keep track of your workouts, blog about fitness and life, and connect with other athletes. You'll find training guides for races of all distances, disciplines, and levels of competition. Yes, walking a race is competing. Sign up here for free WE'LL DELIVER YOU INSPIRATION TO MOVE MORE - EVERY DAY.
April 2007
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Sweat365

Are you worried about aging? We all know having an active lifestyle is the best way to keep pounds off and stay fit as you grow older. Get inspired with a new online fitness community called sweat365 because you should move your body every day.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

