Over Training

February 7, 2007 at 5:18 pm 2 comments

I am ready to put up the white flag on my streak of working out every day this year.   After reading Karl’s analysis that he is overtrained and his follow up piece that cited the overtraining syndrome, I am convinced I am overtraining.  Probably not a surprise to people in the know about these things.

I have enjoyed working out every day - but I am definately tired and dragging these last few days.  I also have noticed the hair trigger on my irritability, another sure sign of overtraining.  It’s been great for getting my new habits off the ground, but it’s time to get on with both eating and exercising the way I intend to for the rest of my life.

  I am going to continue my streak until Friday, when I will have exercised 40 days in a row.  I figure that’s a good number with which to end.  I will take this Saturday off, then I will get into the rhythm of taking off every Friday.   I picked Friday because it gives me rest before the weekend, when I tend to do my long bike rides. 

It was fun while it lasted…

Entry filed under: 2007 Resolutions, fitness, fitness over forty, Goals, health, male over forty, over forty. Tags: .

Spin class today – Intervals Spin Class – So much for taking it easy

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. karlmccracken  |  February 8, 2007 at 12:22 am

    Sensible. Of course, I could just be a ‘plant’ for your local competitors! ;-P

    Reply
  • 2. Phil Sabin  |  February 8, 2007 at 9:48 am

    If my competitors ever saw my times I think they would relax.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Check out Sweat365

Sweat 365 is dedicated to supporting your every-day fitness, no matter what your level and no matter what your goals. At Sweat 365 you can easily keep track of your workouts, blog about fitness and life, and connect with other athletes. You'll find training guides for races of all distances, disciplines, and levels of competition. Yes, walking a race is competing. Sign up here for free WE'LL DELIVER YOU INSPIRATION TO MOVE MORE - EVERY DAY.
February 2007
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728  

Sweat365

Are you worried about aging? We all know having an active lifestyle is the best way to keep pounds off and stay fit as you grow older. Get inspired with a new online fitness community called sweat365 because you should move your body every day.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

